Liquid protein snack – Soya bean Milk

Organic soya beans are readily available in Bio Supermärkte or Reformhaus, if you are living in Germany.

I grew up on soya bean milk. A week doesn’t pass without a serving from the hawker centre. After feeling deprived for months, I finally decided to try and make some at home. It isn’t as difficult as some make it sound. In fact, I take less than an hour to grind, squeeze, cook and clean up.

Leading from my high(er) protein diet, soya bean milk is now used as an in-between meal ‘snack’. I’m not a vegan but I believe substituting soya based products for some meat is always a good idea because soya is fat free.

This is the recipe for 1.2 litres of soya bean milk, which is what I would finish within a week. It doesn’t keep longer than that so don’t make more unless other family members enjoy it too (The Mister makes a face.) It also doesn’t freeze well. I’ve thawed a bottle before. It separated but came together again after some vigorous stirring. Nonetheless, the texture is not that smooth.

Ingredients

1 cup (organic) soya beans
9 cups water
1 pandan (screwpine) leaf, optional
6-8 tablespoons raw sugar, to taste

Kitchen Equipment

Blender
Muslin bag
Sieve
Large pot

Method

  1. Soak the beans in water the night before. The beans will expand significantly and become brighter in colour. The one cup of beans becomes three cups by then.
  2. Blend one cup of beans with one cup of water. If you have a bigger blender, you could blend all at one go.

    The resulting mixture of blended soya beans with water

  3. Pour the mixture into a muslin bag and squeeze the milk into a large pot.
  4. Tie the pandan leaf into a knot and place it in the milk. The pandan leaf imparts a subtle sweet smell and masks the ‘beany’ flavour. It doesn’t otherwise change the flavour of the milk.

    If you can't find pandan leaves, don't use (artificial) pandan flavouring/paste/extract. That would then alter the flavour of the milk.

  5. Add the remaining 6 cups of water and bring to boil on medium heat.  The amount of water can be adjusted to how thick you like the milk to be. The 1:3 ratio gives the thickness I prefer. Now, here, patience will save you time and an unnecessary mess. Do not be tempted to use higher heat. The milk boils and foams like a science lab volcano when the boiling point is reached abruptly.
  6. Remove foam as the milk heats so that you can tell whether you need to lower the heat. Stir from time to time to prevent a layer from forming at the bottom of the pot.
  7. Allow milk to boil gently for 15 minutes.
  8. Sieve milk.
  9. Add sugar to taste.

Okara is the Japanese term for the leftover bean pulp

What to do with the leftover bean pulp? Ask google! There are plenty of recipes online, incorporating them into cookies, vegatable patties, etc. I’m thinking of using it to make the filling for a lasagna. I’ll report in the next recipe post!

3 thoughts on “Liquid protein snack – Soya bean Milk

  1. Go gal! You actually have fresh pandan leaves in Germany… I got some frozen (and severely dyhydrated) ones while I was in Houston to make a “pandan kaya” cake and could hardly get any green element out ~ haha! (ok, put pandan kaya in “…” coz I tried to make out of a pastry cream).

    Read that you are preggy ~ take great care, gal!

    • Thanks babe. Am having a really enjoyable pregnancy. 🙂
      A pity that the leaves are dehydrated! I think they were too old. So unethical of them to still sell them. Yeah, I’m surprised also to find pandan leaves here. Btw, if you wanna get pandan juice, blend it with water. Then squeeze out the juice using a muslin bag. I’ve made some pandan apam balik using such pandan juice. The flavour and smell is delectable. I’ve given up on pandan flavouring or paste. They smell and taste artificial. Where are you based now?

      • hey, I am back in Singapore. I understand the pandan leaves in HK market in Houston were frozen, and I thought they may have kept them too long as well. Sometimes I blend pandan leaves with milk too and pass it over a sift to press out, the natural green is inviting. I have never tried pandan paste, and I have not touched any artificial flavoring ;p

Leave a Reply

