The all-important Outer Shell

I’m a sucker for pretty packaging. And I believe that packaging constitutes an important part of purchase and savour pleasure. That’s why I refuse to pack my macarons in white cardboard boxes with grey interiors.

Still in the experimental stage, there have been several box designs since I started selling the macarons online last Dec. Here’s the collection:

Kugel
My favourite of all time – A plastic ball filled with Christmas-themed Macarons for my German language teacher. It may find its way onto Christmas Trees this coming festive season.

Christmas 2008 Edition

Red, a favourite Christmas colours with a transparent band of Christmas Tree glass balls.

Pink Polka Dots

Polka Dots are always irresistable! January was the month of Pink Polka Dots.

Pink Band
I found this lovely pink paper at a local home decor shop, Nanu Nana. Pink continues as the theme colour in February.

Pink Gift Box
A customer wanted to give her friends something special during graduation. I made them these boxes out of my favourite pink paper. Everyone was rather pleased.

Black Floral Gift Box
Another box for the same customer, just for variation. This gift wrap was found at another home decor shop, Home Depot. I love its elegance, black with floral prints in gold.

Birthday Gift Box
Another customer ordered the macarons as a birthday gift and requested for a message to be included. I parted with a precious butterfly for Peggy, her friend.

Purple Days
Someone told me that the colour purple represents the soul. Purple became the colour of the month for April, with the hope that the macarons satisfy all gourmet souls out there.

Blue with Brown Band
June came with new inspirations from old themes. I fell in love with the pink/brown and blue/brown combination a couple of years ago. When I found this bronzy brown gift wrap at Home Depot, I knew the latest box design will stay for some months. As of now, macarons are still being sent in these cheery blue boxes.

After a meeting with WL in May, she sent me a PostPac with her packaging ideas. Gorgeous!

Black/White Gift Box
I begin to appreciate sunny yellow for packaging. Somehow it’s really cheery and complements the brown paper cases.

Black/White Gift Box II

Green Floral Gift Box
This green box is totally my style – girly and vintage.

Green Floral Gift Box II

If anyone has other suggestions, do let me know!

Leave a Reply

